Skip to main content

Department of Chemistry

Chair of Departments
Dr Bowa Kwach

The Department of Chemistry is housed in the School of Physical and Biological Sciences. The Department aims at producing graduates with practical and intellectual skills appropriate to cope with and be part of the ever changing societal and job market requirements and for further advancement of scientific knowledge. The Department offers undergraduate and postgraduate programs. The undergraduate programs offered are Bachelor of Science in Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry and Analytical Chemistry. The postgraduate programs are Master of Science in Chemistry and PhD in Chemistry. The Master of Science and PhD programs have Organic, Natural Products, Inorganic, Physical, Analytical and Environmental Thematic areas.

The Department has qualified and dedicated Faculty comprising Professors, Senior Lecturers and Lecturers in areas of Natural Products Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Material Science and Inorganic Chemistry, and with diverse research interests including Tea Chemistry, Environmental Pollution and Toxicology, Natural products Chemistry, Materials and Renewable Energy among others. The Department has adequately equipped undergraduate Teaching Laboratories